Menu
psychothérapie Lille psychothérapie Lille

How to Recognise Manipulation

We here it everyone these days: manipulator! It’s as if these people who have such ease with manipulating others have newly come into existence.

 

That’s not the case.  Manipulation is nothing new and neither are those who use it.  It has always existed although it does seem to be more and more prevalent in today’s society. 

 

How can you avoid falling into the manipulator’s traps?  To start with, you would need to know what psychological manipulation is and how to recognise it.

 

Psychological manipulation is a way of making a person do something he or she does not want to do or would not usually do, without his or her realising that he or she is being made to do it.  Manipulation can be voluntary or involuntary on the behalf of the person who is using it.

 

It is important to note that we are all capable of manipulation and we all do it from time to time.  What differentiates between “normal” manipulation and the unhealthy manipulation used by malignant narcissists and psychopaths is the intention behind the manipulation as well as the frequency of it. 

 

Malignant narcissists and psychopaths use manipulation in a habitual way.  It is part of their everyday repertoire in their interactions with others.  They use it in a conscious way and with the objective of harming the intended victim.  This is the perverted side of their manipulation:  the fact that they take pleasure in harming other.  And harm they do!

 

When faced with such high stakes, it’s best to be prepared if ever you find yourself in an encounter with an emotional manipulator.

 

What then are the signs of emotional and psychological manipulation?  The list is long, but just to cite a few, the emotional manipulator:

  • is egocentric
  • he denies his responsibilty or accuses you of being at fault, it's never his fault
  • interrupts your speaking and/or doesn’t allow you to express yourself
  • turns his back to you and/or leaves when you criticise him
  • changes the topic of conversation very suddenly or in the middle of the conversation
  • denies or deforms reality (gaslighting)
  • accuses you of having misunderstood (also gaslighting)
  • lies
  • flies into a rage when his is criticised or accused of things he has done
  • suddenly becomes very attentive and caring, especially to impress others, to create a sense of confusion, or when he feels his victim could "escape"
  • gives vague answers even to simple questions
  • answers with another question in order to avoid answering or to change the subject
  • avoids asking but expects others to understand his demand implicitly
  • says one thing but does another
  • criticises others and makes them believe in his superiority
  • avoids direct communication and uses others to pass his messages on
  • knows how to play the victim and does so in order to make others feel sorry for him and take care of him
  • creates strike among others, divides and conquers
  • lives off others
  • ignores others’ needs, desires, wants,
  • changes plans at the last-minute forcing others to decide without thinking
  • is jealous even of his children and/or spouse
  • live in a competitive world and not a world of co-creation
  • creates a feeling of malaise
  • creates a chaotic environment

 

This list is by no means definitive but it gives a good idea of many of the habitual techniques used by manipulators.  Each manipulator has his preferences and may not use all those techniques listed above.  This doesn’t mean he’s not a manipulator and a toxic personality.

 

If you believe you are in a relationship with a malignant narcissist, psychopath, or other toxic personality, the best solution is to distance yourself from that person as much as possible. 

 

I will write about the effects of emotional and psychological manipulation as well as how to get out of a toxic relationship in future articles.

 

If you wish to discuss this with me, please don’t hesitate to contact me or set up an appointment in Wasquehal or Paris. 



Lovebombing

You only just met him and he’s charming, attentive, thoughtful.  He asks you questions, listens with a patience you’ve never known.  You have so much in common.  You love long walks along the beach?  He does too!   You dream of working for yourself?  He just quit his (very good) job to do the same.  You need to find a new apartment?  He’ll help you do it or knows someone who will.  Your first date goes so well that you definitely want to see him again.

 

And so you will.  And he’ll phone you.  Several times a day.  He’ll send you messages all throughout the day to tell you how much he misses you, how he’s thinking of you.  He’ll bring you to your favourite restaurant where he’s reserved a special table just for the two of you.  You love flowers?  He’ll send you a bunch.  At your workplace.  So everyone can see how much you mean to him.

 

Everything is perfect.  He is blown away by your beauty, finds you magnificent, intelligent, funny.  He knows how to read you, see your vulnerabilities, your wounds, and how to take care of them.  He shares his with you.  He finally feels understood and so incredibly happy to at last be able to open up and be vulnerable with a woman.  You are the woman he’s been looking for his entire life, the one he could never find.  It was because the universe was preparing you for this, this meeting of souls.  You are made for each other. 

Little by little, you get used to his little gestures: his phone calls, his daily messages, his capacity to listen to you.  His compliments make you feel special.

 

On top of it, you were in a difficult place when you met.  Maybe you’d just come out of a relationship and were hurting or you just left a job or lost a person close to you.  The manipulator senses it and comes to your rescue.  It feels so amazing to be loved and admired.  It’s a breath of fresh air that becomes your drug. 

 

It’s not only that you want to be with him.  You need to be with him.  He’s become indispensable. 

 

You’re in a whirlwind of love and emotions.  You’re losing your footing.  And soon, too soon, your heart. 

 

But as we say, if it seems too good to be true…

 

In reality, you are the latest victim of “love bombing” but you don’t yet know it.

 

What is love bombing?  Simply put, it’s a manipulation technique used by emotional vampires, such as malignant narcissists and psychopaths, to lure their intended victims and create an emotional and even physical dependence on them.  Love bombing makes victims easy to manipulate so that the manipulator can play with them and achieve his goals. 

 

During the love bombing period, the victim doesn’t realise that the words and behaviour of the manipulator are not sincere.  She takes them in as truth and as any person falling in love would do.  And she returns the favour with compliments and attentiveness to her future torturer.  In doing so, she gives him his required dose of recognition and positive reinforcement that he needs in order to maintain his fragile ego. 

 

Love bombing is intrinsic in the manipulators first phase of destruction, the stages being Idealisation, Devaluation, Discard.  This stage can last as long as necessary for the manipulator.  Often, it lasts until he feels that the victim has fallen into his lair and is in love with him or that she is “acquired” in one way or another.  And it’s at this moment that things change suddenly and abruptly.

 

What are the signs that a victim is “acquired” and what happens after this?  I’ll write more in a future article. 

 



Acquired or Not?

narcissistic abuse abusive relationships When is a victim considered as acquired by a manipulator?

 

There isn’t one single moment or one single sign.  Each manipulator has his own way of operating and each relationship is different.  For some, it’s when he feels the other has fallen in love with him.  Sometimes it’s when the couple moves in together, gets engaged, gets married, has a child together, opens a company together (because not all abusive relationships involve romantic relationships).  Any action or deed that creates a tie that is permanent or not easily undone can be the moment when everything in the relationship changes.

 

Whereas up until that point, everything seemed perfect - the future persecutor had been charming, attentive, “as he should be” – suddenly cracks start to show in his behaviour.  He criticises you for little things, becomes angry over situations that he accepted graciously before, demeans you in front of others, makes snide comments about you or things relating to you…

 

You are shocked!  Where is this behaviour coming from?  He must be tired, you think.  He’s had a long week at work.  He’s stressed.  Or maybe he’s right, you misunderstood what he meant, or you’re too sensitive, or he only wanted to be helpful by pointing out your error or weakness.

 

You forget about it and the relationship goes on.  We all have bad moments from time to time after all.  We can all have a bad day.  Usually he’s so kind and loving.  No relationship is perfect and you can’t just run away from a relationship at the first signs of trouble. Imperfection is part of life.  And leaving now isn’t so easy.  You’ve invested a lot in this relationship :  your time, your money, your heart…

 

And so you stay.  What you don’t know yet is that this time it’s different.  You just went through your first test and you passed with flying colours. Unfortunately for you.  He knows you’re acquired and his game can continue.     

 

Bit by bit, he will test your limits to see just how far he can go and just how much you will accept.  Each time he will go a bit farther.

 

Bit by bit, the mask will fall.  The manipulator will reveal his true self. 



Devaluation

Devaluation abusive relationships

What happens once the victim is acquired ?

 

Often it’s the next step, devaluation, that sets in.  Whereas before he put you on a pedestal, bit by bit, he chips away at that to not only bring you back down to earth, but even lower.

 

“You’re going to wear that dress tonight?  Are you sure?  Oh, okay, if you want…”

 

You feel the disapproval but at the same time, he didn’t say anything truly unkind. It’s the beginning. The next time it might be a comment about how you raise your children. Or perhaps you didn’t really deserve that promotion at work, you got it by chance.

 

He won’t stop at disobliging remarks.  He’ll questions your feelings (“You’ve always been too sensitive.”), your values (“Why do you worry so much about people you don’t even know?  It’s a waste of time.”), even facts (“I never said that.  You must have misunderstood.”).  Or perhaps he’ll just say nothing or simply walk away when you need to talk.  He has many tricks in his book.

 

Whatever method he chooses, and often he’ll use quite a few, the goal is the same:  with every comment, every hostile look, every reaction, he’s chipping away at you.  He makes you doubt your qualities, the very ones he so admired, your abilities, even your reality.

 

He’s working hard at destroying your confidence, your strength, you yourself.

 

You realise you’re no longer the same person you used to be not so very long ago.  You don’t understand what’s going on.  You question yourself all the time.  You’ve lost your joy, your love of live, maybe even your will to live.  And that was the plan all along.  

 



Rejection: The final stage

manipulation narcissistThe last phase in a relationship with a manipulator is rejection.  We’ve already seen how once the manipulator has spent the necessary time seducing in order to acquire you, he will then go into devaluation phase, his goal being to destroy you morally, psychologically, and even physically. 

 

Once these phases are completed, rejection is next on the list.

 

He will reject you quite simply because, in one way or another, you no long give him what he needs.  Maybe you’ve lost your joy of life (which is pretty much inevitable given all the insults and abuse he has been throwing onto you).  Or perhaps you’ve started to figure him out and are no longer a willing participant in his games.  Or it could simply be that he’s lost interest in the relationship and has decided to move on in order to satisfy his impulsiveness. 

 

The rejection can be brutal:  he suddenly stops calling, no longer responds to your messages, cuts off your relationship from one day to the next, seemingly without remorse.  You struggle to understand how he can do this so quickly.  Even when a relationship is on the rocks, there is usually a grieving period when it ends.  Not for the manipulator.  Since he was never genuinely attached to you (remember, he doesn’t know how), because you were only ever an object he used to satisfy his needs, he knows how to move on and never look back.  And he will move on.  He’ll find his new target and will start the cycle all over again.

 

If, on top of it, the manipulator knows that rejecting you causes you pain, if he knows that you’re still pining over him, looking for news from him directly or indirectly, his narcissistic supply is satisfied in knowing that you are still thinking of him and therefore he still “exists” for you.  The more he abandons you, the more he exists for you.

 

But the rejection isn’t always so abrupt or definitive.

 

It can also be more discreet and/ or temporary.  Depending on the situation, he can physically remain in the relationship but disengage in a extreme way, preferring to put his energies elsewhere in order to find a new narcissistic source.  Disengaging emotionally while staying physically gives him a certain comfort and also allows him to make you suffer that much more.

 

The manipulator can also leave and then come back.  Sometimes months or even years after.  Whenever he needs a narcissistic boost to support his fragile ego, he can reappear in your life.  But rest assured, he will leave again.

 

The relationship with a manipulator is never easy going, never without drama.  He will never be able to give you what you want or need.  He isn’t capable and doesn’t want to.  The best thing you can do for yourself is count your blessing that he’s liberated you and take the time to heal yourself from the trauma you’ve just lived through. 

 



How to leave a manipulator

narcissist manipulator psychopath relationship marcq en baroeul lille parisDespite what one may think, the manipulator is in fact someone who is very dependent on others.  If he hasn’t made the decision to leave you, he will not want you to leave him.  He still needs you.  On top of it, if you were to leave him, he’s the one who is left, abandoned and that’s not very good for his image!

 

If he believes you are going to leave him before he has decided to leave you, be careful!  He can quickly change roles and become that amazing person you met at the beginning again.  So charming and kind.  His goal, of course, is to make you doubt your decision and convince you to stay.  Rest assured, you’re not mistaken.  This seemingly kind and gentle man still does not exist.  He never really did.  He’s simply put the mask back on, for the necessary duration, in order to convince you not to leave.

 

Another technique: play the victim.  Don’t forget that manipulators excel at playing the victim so that they may play on your empathy.  He may suddenly develop all different manners of weaknesses and illnesses.  Some that he’s never had before and that are difficult to diagnose.  Emotionally he can act like the lost little boy at the end of his rope.  You’ll feel guilty about leaving.  And you’ll seriously think about staying. 

 

The threat of abandonment, because he will feel this as abandonment, is also one of the rare occasions that could push him into therapy.  But again, it’s only a game of smoke and mirrors:  his therapy isn’t truly so that he can change (after all, in his world, he doesn’t have a problem, everyone else does).  Therapy is to look good and sometimes even to learn the lingo in order to use it against you in the future.  He’ll learn to talk the talk, but he won’t walk the walk. 

 

If you’re in a relationship with a manipulator and the stakes are higher than just dating, you need to prepare yourself ahead of time, and quietly, before leaving if you want to save your skin.  If you have shared assets that need to be divided, protect yourself because he’s very attached to his objects and of course it’s always all about winning and hurting you.  If you have children together, there are even more reasons to seek professional advice and be well informed before acting.  The manipulator is capable of using everything and everyone to achieve his goals.


It’s not an easy situation, but it is possible to get out of it and even to come out of it well.  

 

Contact
33, rue du Molinel, 59290 Wasquehal ///////+33 (0)6 10 60 83 24
Office Hours
From Monday to Friday :8h30 - 18h30/////// Saturday morning :9h00 - 12h00

Home visits, Paris and Lille.

Newsletter

News
  • Atelier Huiles Essentielles et les Emotions
  • Ateliers EFT en Groupe 2017-2018
  • Identité Volée - Que deviennent les enfants de parents narcissiques et/ou pervers?
    Formation desintée aux professionnels de la relation d'aide 
  • Gretchen Jakub : thérapeute psycho-corporelle à Lille, Paris et à domicile
    J'accueille un public d'adultes, adolescents et enfants ainsi que les familles, vers un objectif précis et/ou un bien-être intérieur. Ma pratique s'exerce au travers de plusieurs méthodes : kinésiologie,...
> More

Menu
psychothérapie Lille psychothérapie Lille

Comment reconnaître un manipulateur

On l'entend un peu partout aujourd'hui : manipulateur !  Comme si ces personnes qui ont tant de faciliter à jouer avec les autres viennent de naître. 

 

Mais non, la manipulation n’est pas chose nouvelle et les manipulateurs non plus.  Ça existe depuis toujours même s’il semblerait que l’on vit aujourd’hui dans une société où il y en a de plus en plus.

 

Alors comment ne pas tomber dans les pièges d’un manipulateur (ou d’une manipulatrice car oui, ça existe en version féminine aussi !) ?

Pour commencer, il faut savoir ce que c’est la manipulation et comment le reconnaître.

 

La manipulation psychologique s’agit d’obtenir de quelqu'un qu'il fasse quelque chose qu'il ne veut pas faire ou qu’il n’aurait normalement pas fait, sans qu'il s'aperçoive qu'on la lui fait faire. Cette manipulation peut être involontaire ou volontaire de la part de la personne qui la pratique. 

 

Il est important de noter que nous sommes tous capable de manipuler et nous le faisons tous de temps en temps.  Ce qui fait la différence entre une manipulation « normale » et celle qui est malsaine pratiquée par les pervers narcissiques et les psychopathes est l’intention qui se trouve derrière ainsi que la fréquence. 

 

Les pervers narcissiques et les psychopathes pratiquent la manipulation d’une manière régulière et habituelle, le font d’une manière consciente, et avec l’intention de nuire à l’autre.  C’est le côté « pervers » : cette idée de prendre plaisir à faire mal à l’autre. Et des dégâts, ils en font !

 

Face à de tels enjeux, il vaut mieux être bien préparé pour faire face si jamais on ne se trouve devant un manipulateur.

Quels sont donc les signes de manipulation ? La liste est longue mais il faut commencer quelque part.  Alors pour en citer quelques uns, la personne :

  • est égocentrique
  • se dément de sa responsabilité ou te fait croire que c'est de ta faute, elle n'est jamais culpable
  • te coupe la parole et ne te laisse pas t’exprimer
  • te tourne le dos et/ou s’en va quand tu as quelque chose à lui reprocher
  • change soudainement le sujet de conversation
  • nie ou déforme la réalité (c’est du gaslighting)
  • t’accuse d’avoir mal compris (c’est aussi du gaslighting)
  • ment
  • se met en rage quand elle est critiquée ou accusée de choses qu’elle a faites
  • se met au petits soins, surtout pour impressionner les autres, pour sémer la confusion, ou quand elle sent que sa victime lui échappe
  • répond d’une manière floue même à des questions simples
  • répond par une question pour éviter de réponder ou pour détourner le sujet
  • ne pose jamais de demande mais s’attend à ce qu’elle soit comprise implicitement
  • dit une chose et fait une autre
  • dénigre les autres et fait croire en sa supériorité
  • ne communique pas directement (elle utilise l’autre pour faire passer son message par exemple)
  • sait jouer la victime pour que l’on la plaigne et que l’on s’occupe d’elle
  • sème la division entre personnes pour mieux régner
  • vit au dépens de l’autre
  • ne prend pas en considération les besoins, désirs, envies de l’autre
  • change de plans à la dernière minute pour que l’autre n’ait pas le temps de réfléchir
  • est très jaloux même de ses enfants ou de son conjoint/sa conjointe
  • vit dans un esprit de compétition et pas de co-construction
  • crée un sentiment de malaise autour d'elle 
  • crée un environnement chaotique, sème "la zizanie"

Cette liste n’est pas définitive mais elle te donne déjà une idée de quelques comportements habituels.  Il faut tenir compte du fait que chaque manipulateur a ses préférences et il ne faut pas cocher tous les cases pour savoir que tu es face à quelqu’un de toxique. 


Si tu penses être en relation avec un pervers narcissique, un psychopathe, ou autre personne de toxique, la meilleure solution est de prendre tes distances. 

Je parlerai des effets de cette manipulation ainsi de comment s’en sortir dans des prochains articles. 

Si tu souhaites en discuter avec moi, n’hésites pas à me contacter ou à prendre rendez-vous à Wasquehal ou sur Paris.



Le Lovebombing

Tu viens de le rencontrer et il est charmant, attentif, attentionné.  Il te pose des questions, t’écoute avec une patience que tu n’as jamais connue.  Vous partagez tellement de points communs.  Tu aimes les ballades le lIl vient de démission d’un poste très bien pour faire pareil !  Tu as besoin de trouver un nouvel appartement ?  Il va t’aider à le faire ou il connaît quelqu’un qui peut t’aider.  La première rencontre se passe tellement bien.  C’est normal que vous ayez envie que ça continue.

 

Et ça continue. Il t’appelle. Plusieurs fois par jour. Il t’envoie des petits messages à longueur de journée pour dire que tu lui manques, qu’il pense à toi. Il t’emmène à ton restaurant préféré où il a réservé une table rien que pour vous deux.  Tu aimes les fleurs, il t’en envoie.  A ton lieu de travail.  Pour que tout le monde puisse voir à quel point il tient à toi. 

 

Tout est parfait.  Il est ébloui devant ta beauté, te trouve magnifique, intelligente, drôle. Il sait te lire, voir tes fragilités, tes blessures et en prendre soin. Et il partage les siennes avec toi. Il se sent enfin compris et si heureux d’enfin pouvoir être vulnérable avec une femme.  Tu es la femme qu’il cherche toute sa vie mais qu’il n’a jamais réussi à trouver.  C’est parce que l’univers devait préparer votre rencontre, parce que vous êtes faits l’un pour l’autre.

Petit à petit, tu prends l’habitude de ces petites attentions : les appels au téléphone, les messages pendant la journée, son écoute attentive.  Ses flatteries te font tellement plaisir. 


En plus, tu étais dans une période difficile dans ta vie. Peut-être que tu sors d’une relation ou tu viens de quitter un travail ou tu as perdu une personne chère.  Le manipulateur le sent et vient te sauver de tout ça. Ça te fait tant de bien de te sentir aimée et admirée.  C’est une bouffée d’air frais qui devient ta drogue.

 

Ce n’est pas simplement que tu as envie d’être avec lui. Tu en as besoin. Il devient indispensable.

 

Tu te sens dans un tourbillon d’amour et d’émotions.  Tu perds pieds.  Et bientôt, trop tôt, ton cœur.

 

Mais comme on dit, si ça semble trop beau pour être vrai…

 

En réalité, tu es victime du « love bombing » mais tu ne le sais pas encore.

 

Mais le love bombing, c’est quoi ?  C’est une technique de manipulation utilisée par les manipulateurs émotionnels, tels les pervers narcissiques et les psychopathes, pour piéger leurs victimes ciblées et créer une dépendance émotionnelle et même physique.  Le love bombing rend les victimes facilement maniables pour que le manipulateur puisse mieux jouer avec elle et atteindre son objectif.

 

Pendant la période de love bombing, la victime ne se rend pas compte que les actes et les gestes de la part du manipulateur ne sont pas sincères.  Elle les reçoit comme une vérité et comme toute personne qui est en train de tomber amoureux, elle rend le service en faisant les compliments et petits gestes attentionné à son futur bourreau.  Il reçoit ainsi sa dose de signes de reconnaissance positifs dont il a besoin pour renforcer son estime fragile.

 

Le love bombing est intrinsèque dans la première partie du programme de destruction du manipulateur : Idéalisation, Dévaluation, Rejet.  Cette partie peut durer aussi longtemps qu’il faut pour le manipulateur.  Souvent, elle dure jusqu’à ce qu’il sente que tu es tombée dans le piège et que tu es « amoureuse » de lui ou tu es « acquise ».  Et c’est à ce moment-là que les choses peuvent changer d’une manière très soudaine et abrupte.

 

Quels sont les signes qu’une victime est « acquise » et que se passe-t-il après ?  J’en parlerai dans un prochain article sur les relations d’emprise. 



Acquise ou non acquise?

abus narcissique manipulateurQuand est une victime considérée comme « acquise » par le manipulateur ?

 

Il n’existe pas un seul moment, un seul signe.  Chaque manipulateur voire même chaque relation est différente.  Parfois c’est le moment où le manipulateur sens que l’autre tombe amoureuse de lui.  Parfois c’est quand le couple aménage ensemble, se fiance, se marie, a un premier enfant, ouvre une société ensemble (car les relations d’emprise ne sont pas limitées au domaine romantique).  Tout acte qui forme un lien que ne peut être que difficilement coupé peut être le moment où la relation va basculer.

 

Alors que jusqu’à ce moment tout avait l’air bien - le futur bourreau était charmant, attentionné, se montrait « comme il faut » - soudain, des fissures apparaissent dans la façade.  Il te critique pour un rien, se met en colère là où avant il acceptait avec compassion, te rabaisse devant les autres, fait des petits commentaires désagréables... 

 

Tu es étonnée !  D’où vient ce comportement ?  Il doit être fatigué, tu raisonnes.  Il a eu une longue semaine au travail.  Il est stressé.   Ou peut-être qu’il a raison, tu as mal compris, ou tu es trop sensible, ou il voulait simplement t’aider en pointant du doigt ton erreur.  

 

Tu l’excuses et vous continuez ensemble comme avant.  Après tout, on a tous droit à l’erreur.  On peut tous avoir une mauvaise journée.  Habituellement il est si gentil et aimant.  Aucune relation n’est parfaite et on ne s’en va pas au premier signe de difficultés.  L’imperfection fait partie d’une relation.  Et puis partir maintenant n’est pas si facile.  Tu as beaucoup investi dans cette relation :  ton temps, ton argent, ton cœur… 

 

Et donc tu restes.  Ce que tu ne sais pas encore est que cette fois-ci c’est différent.  Il vient de te faire passer ta première épreuve et tu l’as réussite, malheureusement pour toi. Il sait que tu es acquise et son jeu peut continuer.

 

Peu à peu, il testera tes limites pour aller jusqu’où il peut aller, jusqu’où tu accepteras.  Il ira de plus en plus loin.

 

Peu à peu, le masque tombe.  Le manipulateur dévoile sa vraie personne.



Dévaluation

Dévaluation relation d'empriseQue se passe-t-il une fois la victime acquise ? 

 

Souvent commence l’étape de dévaluation.  Alors qu’avant il t’avais mis sur un piédestal, petit à petit il te descend de ce poste. 

 

« Tu vas mettre cette robe ce soir ?  Tu en es sûre ?  Ah bon, si tu veux… »

 

Tu sens sa désapprobation mais en même temps il n’a rien dit de véritablement méchant.  Mais c’est le début.  Une prochaine fois ça sera un commentaire sur ta façon d’éduquer les enfants.  Ou peut-être la promotion que tu as eue au travail mais que tu ne mérites pas. 

 

Il ne s’arrêteras pas aux commentaires désobligeants.  Il remettra en question tes ressentis («Tu as toujours été trop sensible !»), tes valeurs (« Pourquoi tu t'occupes autant des personnes que tu ne connais même pas?  Tu gaspilles ton temps.»), même les faits (« Je n’ai jamais dit ça.  Tu as dû mal comprendre. »).  Ou alors il ne dira rien, mais il se taira ou s’en ira quand tu as besoin de parler.  Il y a tant de façons à faire.

 

Le but est le même : avec chaque commentaire, chaque regard malveillant, chaque réaction, il te rabaisse.  Il te fait douter de tes qualités, les mêmes qu’il a tellement adorées, de tes capacités, et même de ta réalité. 

 

Il cherche à détruire ta confiance, ta force, et même ta personne.

 

Tu te rends comptes que tu n’es plus la même personne que tu étais il n’y a pas si longtemps.  Tu ne comprends pas ce qui se passe.  Tu te remets en question en continu, tu as perdu ta joie de vivre, même peut-être ta force de vivre.  Et c’est ça le but. 



Le rejet: Etape final


break up rupture

La dernière phase dans une relation avec un manipulateur est le rejet.  On a déjà vu qu’une fois que le manipulateur a passé du temps à te séduire pour assurer ton acquisition, il passe en mode dévaluation, le but étant de te détruire moralement, psychiquement, même physiquement. 

 

Ces étapes achevées, il ne reste plus que le rejet.  

 

Il te rejette tout simplement parce que tu ne lui apportes plus ce dont il a besoin d’une manière ou une autre. Peut-être que tu as perdu la joie de vivre que tu avais avant (ce qui est presque inévitable face à ses critiques et son abus).  Ou tu l’as compris et ne joues plus autant à ses jeux.  Peut-être qu’il a tout simplement perdu l’intérêt et à envie de passer à autre chose pour satisfaire son côté impulsif.

 

Le rejet peut être brutal :  Il arrête soudainement de t’appeler, ne répond plus à tes appels, coupe votre relation du jour au lendemain sans regret aucun.  Tu ne comprends pas comment il peut faire aussi rapidement.  Même quand une relation ne va pas bien, il y a une période de deuil.  Ce n’est pas le cas pour les manipulateurs.  Puis qu’il n’y a jamais eu de l’attachement de son côté, puisque tu n’es qu’un objet pour lui, il sait passer à autre chose sans aucun problème. Et il passera à autre chose.  Il trouvera une nouvelle cible pour recommencer le cycle.

En plus, si le manipulateur sait que le fait de te rejeter te provoque de la souffrance, fait que tu cherches toujours à avoir de ses nouvelles directement ou indirectement, son besoin narcissique est satisfait par le simple fait de savoir que tu continues à penser à lui et il continuer ainsi à « exister » pour toi.  Plus il t’abandonne, plus il existe pour toi.

 

Mais tout rejet n’est pas toujours définitif.

 

Le rejet peut aussi être plus discret ou temporaire.  Selon les situations, il peut rester dans la relation physiquement mais se désengager émotionnellement d’une manière extrême, préférant mettre ses énergies ailleurs pour trouver une nouvelle source narcissique.  Se désengager tout en restant lui permet un certain confort et lui donne aussi l’occasion de t’infliger plus de souffrance.

 

Il peut aussi quitter et puis revenir.  Des mois après, même des années.  Quand il aura besoin de source narcissique pour soutenir son égo fragile, il peut réapparaître dans ta vie le temps qu’il lui faut.  Mais sois sûre qu’il quittera de nouveau. 

 

La relation avec un manipulateur n’est jamais sans drame, n’est jamais un long fleuve tranquille.  Il ne t’apportera jamais ce dont tu as envie ou besoin parce qu'il n'en est pas capable et il n'en a pas envie. La meilleure chose que tu peux faire est de mettre tout ça derrière toi et prendre le temps de te soigner du traumatisme que tu viens de survivre.  



Sortir d'une relation avec un manipulateur

narcissiste manipulateur PN pervers narcissique marcq en baroeul wasquehal lilleComment sortir d’une relation avec un manipulateur :

 

Malgré ce que l’on pourrait croire, le manipulateur est une personne qui peut être très dépendant de l’autre.  S’il n’a pas décidé que tu ne lui sers plus, il ne voudrait pas que tu partes parce qu’il a encore besoin de toi.  Et puis, il faut savoir que si tu pars, c’est lui qui est abandonné ce qui ne fait guère du bien à son image !  (Et touche aussi à sa blessure profonde d’abandon, mais c’est un sujet pour un autre jour)

 

S’il sent que tu vas partir alors qu’il n’a pas fini avec toi, attention !  Il peut changer de rôle et redevenir la personne tellement gentille que tu as connue au début.  Son but est de te fait douter de ta décision en espérant te convaincre de rester.  Rassure-toi, tu ne t’es pas trompé.  Cet homme bienveillant n’existe toujours pas.  C’est le masque qui est de retour, le temps qu’il faut pour te convaincre de rester. 

 

Autre tactique :  jouer la victime.  Il faut garder en tête qu’un manipulateur est très fort à jouer la victime pour toucher à ton empathie.  Il peut développer d’une manière très soudaine toutes sortes de malaises et de maladies, même parfois dont il n’a jamais souffert avant.  Emotionnellement il peut faire semblant d’être perdu.  Au bout.  Tu te sentiras coupable de le quitter. Et tu contempleras sérieusement l’idée de rester.

 

La menace d’abandon, car il le vit comme un abandon, est aussi une des rares choses qui peut le pousser à entamer une thérapie.  Mais encore une fois, ce n’est qu’un jeu de miroirs : la thérapie n’est pas vraiment pour aller mieux (car au fond de lui, n’oublions pas, il ne pense pas avoir de problème).  C’est pour faire bonne image et parfois même apprendre le langage pour mieux s’en servir contre toi.  Il apprendra à utiliser de bonnes paroles mais il ne saura pas accorder ces paroles avec les bons gestes. 

 

Si tu es dans une relation avec un manipulateur où il y a plus d’enjeux et tu veux partir, il vaut mieux te préparer bien avant et de te préparer sans rien dire si tu ne veux pas y laisser ta peau.  S’il y a des biens ou du patrimoine à partager, protège-toi car il est très attaché à ses objets et surtout à l’idée de gagner et te faire souffrir.  Si vous avez des enfants ensemble, encore plus de raisons pour prendre des conseils et être bien avisée sur comment faire.  Le manipulateur est capable de servir de tout et de tout le monde pour arriver à ses fins.

Ce n’est pas une simple affaire mais il est possible de s’en sortir.

 

Coordonnées
33, rue du Molinel, 59290 Wasquehal ///////+33 (0)6 10 60 83 24
Horaires
Du Lundi au Vendredi : 8h30 - 18h30 ///////Le Samedi matin :9h00 - 12h00

Déplacement à domicile, région lilloise et région parisienne.

Newsletter

Actualités
  • Atelier Huiles Essentielles et les Emotions
  • Ateliers EFT en Groupe 2017-2018
  • Identité Volée - Que deviennent les enfants de parents narcissiques et/ou pervers?
    Formation desintée aux professionnels de la relation d'aide 
  • Gretchen Jakub : thérapeute psycho-corporelle à Lille, Paris et à domicile
    J'accueille un public d'adultes, adolescents et enfants ainsi que les familles, vers un objectif précis et/ou un bien-être intérieur. Ma pratique s'exerce au travers de plusieurs méthodes : kinésiologie,...
> En savoir plus